Shire of Meekatharra

Local Government Ordinary Election

Close of Enrolments

Rolls Close : 5.00pm Friday 25 August 2023

You may be eligible to be enrolled to vote in the following in-person Local Government elections on 21 October 2023, if you live in or are an owner or occupier of rateable property in the district of the relevant Local Government.

Residents

You are automatically enrolled to vote if you are on the State Electoral Roll as at 5.00pm 25 August 2023. If you are not already on the State Electoral Roll but meet the eligibility criteria for this Roll, you can enrol online via the WA Electoral Commission website <u>www.elections.wa.gov.au/enrol</u>. Forms are also available from the Australian Electoral Commission <u>www.aec.gov.au</u>. Forms must be completed and received by 5.00pm Friday 25 August 2023.

Non-Resident Owners and Occupiers

If you are a non-resident owner or occupier of rateable property in your Local Government area and are on the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll, you are eligible to enrol to vote. If you are **not** on the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll and own or occupy rateable property in your Local Government area, you may be eligible to enrol to vote if you were on the Local Government's last electoral roll prior to May 1996. Please contact the particular Local Government for details. Owners of land who were on the last roll of the Local Government continue to retain that status until they cease to own the rateable property to which the enrolment relates.

Occupiers do not have continuous enrolment and should contact their particular Local Government to confirm their enrolment status. To be eligible to enrol as an occupier, you will need to have a right of continuous occupation under a lease, tenancy agreement or other legal instrument for at least the next three (3) months following the date of the application to enrol.

Joint Owners and Occupiers

If a rateable property is owned or occupied by more than two people, a majority of the owners/occupiers may nominate two (2) persons from amongst themselves who are on either the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll, to enrol as owner/occupier electors.

Corporations

A body corporate that owns or occupies rateable property may nominate two (2) people who are on either the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll to enrol as owner/occupier electors.

Enrolment Forms – Non-Resident Owners and Occupiers Only

Enrolment forms can be obtained from Local Governments and must be lodged with the Chief Executive Officer by 5.00pm Friday 25 August 2023. Further information can be obtained from the particular Local Government.

Shire of Carnamah	33-37 Macpherson Street, Carnamah 6517
Shire of Christmas Island	2 Murray Road Christmas Island 6798
Shire of Cunderdin	37 Lundy Avenue, Cunderdin 6407
Shire of Dalwallinu	58 Johnston Street, Dalwallinu 6609
Shire of Kent	24-26 Richmond Street, Nyabing 6341
Shire of Laverton	9 MacPherson Place, Laverton 6440
Shire of Leonora	Lot 16 Tower Street, Leonora 6438
Shire of Meekatharra	75 Main Street, Meekatharra 6642
Shire of Mingenew	21 Victoria Street, Mingenew 6522
Shire of Mount Magnet	90 Hepburn Street, Mount Magnet 6638
Shire of Narembeen	1 Longhurst Street, Narembeen 6369
Shire of Pingelly	17 Queen Street, Pingelly 6308
Shire of Tammin	1 Donnan Street, Tammin, 6409
Shire of Wagin	2 Arthur Road, Wagin 6315
Shire of Westonia	41 Wolfram Street, Westonia 6423