Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Local Government Grants Commission

Last updated: 21/05/2018 11:30 PM
email icon
print icon

​​The WA Local Government Grants Commission (Grants Commission) is a statutory body established under the Local Government Grants Act 1978. Its principle function is the making of recommendations to the Minister for Local Government on the allocations of Financial Assistance Grants among 137 local governments in Western Australia. The grants are the State's entitlement for financial assistance from the Commonwealth Government.

The Grants Commission comprises a chairperson, deputy chairperson and three local government elected members. The Grants Commission also includes four deputy members. It is supported by Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries' officers.

The current membership is:

  • Chairperson - Hon Paul Omodei, President, Shire of Manjimup
  • Deputy Chairperson - Mr Nick Sloan, Executive Director, Planning and Service Delivery, DLGSC
  • Metropolitan Member – Cr Deb Hamblin, Deputy Mayor, City of Rockingham
  • Country Urban Member – Dr Wendy Giles, previous Councillor, City of Bunbury
  • Country Rural Member – Cr Ian West, Shire of Irwin
  • Deputy to the Deputy Chairperson – Dr Ken Parker, Principal Strategy Officer, Local Government, DLGSC
  • Deputy Metropolitan Member – Cr Domenic Zappa, City of Wanneroo
  • Deputy Country Urban Member – Cr Deborah Botica, City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
  • Deputy Country Rural Member – Cr Moira Girando, President, Shire of Coorow