The department is responsible to the following ministers:

Minister for Local Government; Culture and the Arts

Portrait of Hon David Templeman MLA

Hon David Templeman MLA Dip Tchg BEd

Minister for Local Government, Heritage, Culture and the Arts.

David stood for the seat of Mandurah and was elected to the State Parliament in February 2001.

He was re-elected as the Member for Mandurah in 2005, 2008, 2013 and 2017. He was Minister for Child Protection, Seniors and Volunteering, Youth and the Peel Region from 2006 to 2007; then as Environment Minister, Minister for Climate Change and the Peel Region from 2007 to 2008.

In March 2017, David was sworn in as Minister for Local Government, Heritage, and Culture and the Arts.

David's passions include the arts, the environment, education, youth and community development. He is particularly interested in looking at how we can create opportunities for those people in our community who, for whatever reason, find themselves marginalised or isolated.

More information on Hon David Templeman

Minister for Sport and Recreation

Portait of Hon Mick Murray MLA

Hon Michael (Mick) Murray MLA

Minister for Seniors and Ageing; Volunteering; Sport and Recreation

Mick Murray has been a Member of Parliament since 2001 and was appointed the Minister for Seniors and Ageing; Volunteering; Sport and Recreation in the McGowan Government in March 2017.

Mr Murray is passionate about the role sport can play in fostering positive behaviours and life habits in young people. He believes junior sport is an important, character-building tool for children, where they can gain an understanding of the concept of rules and boundaries early on in life.

He is committed to ensuring all sports, big and small, are given every opportunity to grow their presence in the State, and he has a strong interest in using his experience in sport administration to assist grassroots sports clubs.

More information on Hon Mick Murray

Minister for Racing and Gaming; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

Portrait of Hon Paul Papalia MLA

Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA Grad Dip Bus Admin

Minister for Tourism; Racing and Gaming; Small Business; Defence Issues; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

Paul was elected to the seat of Peel in February 2007, then elected to the new seat of Warnbro in September 2008 and re-elected to that seat in 2013 and 2017.

He served in the Shadow Ministry after WA Labor lost office in 2008 as Shadow Minister for Tourism, Corrective Services and Defence Issues.

In March 2017, Paul was appointed a minister in the new McGowan Government, with the portfolios for Tourism, Racing and Gaming, Small Business, Defence Issues, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs.

More information on Hon Paul Papalia

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs

Portrait of Hon Ben Wyatt MLA

Hon. Benjamin (Ben) Wyatt MLA LLB MSc

Treasurer; Minister for Finance; Aboriginal Affairs; Lands

Ben Wyatt is Australia's first Indigenous Australian Treasurer and was appointed in March 2017.

Ben was elected to the Legislative Assembly in 2006 after by-election for the seat of Victoria Park.

Prior to his appointment as a senior minister in the current government, Ben held the positions of Shadow Treasurer and Shadow Minister for Federal State Relations, Aboriginal Affairs, Native Title and Government Accountability.

Ben holds a Masters Degree with distinction from the London School of Economics, a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Western Australia and has served on the National Board of Indigenous Business Australia. He is also a former Australian Army officer, having graduated from the Royal Military College, Duntroon.

More information on Hon Ben Wyatt

Page reviewed 19 July 2019