Minister for Local Government’s Place Innovation Awards 2023

The Minister for Local Government’s Place Innovation Awards are designed to recognise and promote innovative place-related projects, policies and activities involving local governments in Western Australia.

A blue gradient with texture with the words, 'Minister for Local Government Place Innovation Awards'

The 2023 awards were presented during the annual WA Local Government Association (WALGA) Local Futures Convention and the 2023 winners in the three award categories were:

  • Outstanding Achievement: City of Kwinana — Wellard Village 7 Day Makeover
  • Metropolitan Perth and Peel: City of Mandurah — Community Initiated Infrastructure Policy
  • Regional Western Australia: Shire of Pingelly — Pingelly Pocket/Gnalla Wangkiny Park.

Nominations for the Place Innovation Awards were assessed on their ability to take an innovative approach to a place-based opportunity or challenge, demonstrate significant improvements to standard practices, and show a high level of collaboration with external stakeholders and areas within local government.

The awards are administered by Town Team Movement, with support from the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries. Placemaking brings together planners, community members, architects, local government, business and other groups, working collaboratively to activate local spaces.

Page reviewed 05 October 2023