About us

The department works collaboratively with government, community organisations, peak bodies and other stakeholders to achieve our vision of creating a vibrant, inclusive and connected WA community.

Our vision

Creating a vibrant, inclusive and connected WA community.

Our mission

To enable dynamic and inclusive communities and support the WA economy through effective regulation and the facilitation of outstanding sporting and cultural experiences and opportunities.

Our values

Our values include:

  • customer focused
  • responsive
  • respectful
  • accountable
  • innovative.

Corporate Executive

  • Lanie Chopping, Director General (Chair)
  • Erin Gauntlett, Deputy Director General, Management and Coordination
  • Jen McGrath, Deputy Director General, Capability and Performance
  • Kate Alderton, Executive Director, Specialist Aboriginal Projects and Engagement
  • Clint Klymovich, A/Executive Director, Infrastructure
  • Liam Carren, Executive Director, Corporate Services 
  • Tim Fraser, Executive Director, Local Government 
  • James Jegasothy, Executive Director, Multicultural Interests 
  • Ludisha Kalasopatan, Chief Financial Officer
  • Kim Lazenby, Executive Director, Strategy and Performance Accountability
  • Shelagh Magadza, Executive Director, Culture and the Arts
  • Jennifer Shelton, Executive Director, Racing, Gaming and Liquor Regulation
  • Matt Hayes, A/Executive Director, Sport and Recreation
  • Nicole Ades, Executive Director, Workforce Strategy and Transformation.

Operational structure

  • Director General
    • Capability and Performance
      • Corporate Services
      • Strategy and Performance Accountability
      • Finance
      • State Records Office
      • Corporate Communications
      • Legal Services
      • Workforce Strategy and Transformation
    • Management and Coordination
      • Local Government
      • Office of Multicultural Interests
      • Culture and the Arts
      • Racing, Gaming and Liquor Regulation
      • Sport and Recreation
      • Regulatory Reform
      • Child Safeguarding Implementation Team
    • Specialist Aboriginal Projects and Engagement
    • Infrastructure
    • Office of the Director General
    • Integrity
    • Art Gallery of Western Australia
    • Arts and Culture Trust
    • State Library of Western Australia
    • Western Australian Museum
Page reviewed 17 August 2023