Page title


A general exterior view of the WA Museum Boola Bardip
  • Hon. Melissa Parke appointed as Chair of the Western Australian Museum Board of Trustees.
  • Associate Professor Daniel McAullay joins the board as a Trustee.
  • Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO CitWA thanked for his nine years of service as Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Ms Parke has more than 30 years of experience working in Australian and international law, politics, humanitarian affairs and human rights. She was the Federal Member for Fremantle from 2007 to 2016, including periods serving as Minister for International Development and as Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health, Homelessness and Social Housing. 

Ms Parke has been a board member with the WA Museum since 2020 and replaces retiring Chair Emeritus Professor Alan Robson.

Joining Ms Parke on the board is Associate Professor Daniel McAullay, Director of Aboriginal Research at Edith Cowan University.

A/Professor McAullay has 30 years of experience working in health research, policy and practice. He is currently Director of the Board for Derbarl Yerrigan Health Service, Board Member with the Child and Adolescent Health Service, and Adjunct Senior Research Fellow at The University of Western Australia.  

Acting Director General of the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Lanie Chopping also takes up the position of ex-officio Trustee. She replaces recently retired Director General Duncan Ord who presided over the development of the new WA Museum Boola Bardip.


Page reviewed 06 May 2022