Page title


Illustration of an animal constellation with the title, 2021 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards

Today, the Minister for Culture and the Arts David Templeman announced the shortlists for the Western Australian Premier's Book Awards. The Emerging Writer shortlist is filled with stories about hearts laid bare. The Fellowship nominees are a mix of poets, a teacher, a researcher, a curator, an environmentalist and a children's author.

The awards that support, develop and recognise excellence in Western Australian writing will be presented at the State Library of Western Australia on 17 June 2022. At the ceremony, a Western Australian writer will be inducted into the Writers Hall of Fame.

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and Young Adult Writing is open to Indigenous writers from across Australia. This award is administered by Broome-based Indigenous publisher Magabala Books with support from the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries.

The shortlists

The Premier's Prize for an Emerging Writer ($15,000)

  • Debesa by Cindy Solonec (Magabala Books)
  • Eye of a Rook by Josephine Taylor (Fremantle Press)
  • Homecoming by Elfie Shiosaki (Magabala Books)
  • Locust Summer by David Allan-Petale (Fremantle Press)
  • Vociferate by Emily Sun (Fremantle Press).

The Premier's Prize for Writing for Children ($15,000)

  • A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr (Penguin Random House Australia)
  • One Thousand Snapshots by Steve Heron (Shawline Publishing Group)
  • Stellarphant by James Foley (Fremantle Press)
  • Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Cristy Burne and Denis Knight (Hachette Australia)
  • Where do the Stars Go? by Katie Stewart (Fremantle Press).

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books)

  • Robert Runs by Mariah Sweetman
  • Jack Trials: Whistling Spider by Sean Owen
  • That one summer by Shirleyann Wilson.

The Western Australian Writer's Fellowship ($60,000)

  • Caitlin Maling — poet
  • David Whish-Wilson — teacher and author
  • John Mateer — poet, writer and curator
  • Julia Lawrinson — children's and YA author
  • Nandi Chinna — researcher and poet.

2021 WA Premier's Book Awards Shortlist

Page reviewed 06 May 2022