Page title


he T20 World Cup trophy is pictured in the field of light during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Trophy Tour at Uluru on August 08, 2022 in Uluru, Australia. Photo: Getty Images/Brook Mitchell/Stringer

The Indian and Western Australian teams will go head-to-head in 2 practice matches this week.

6 of the top 8 men's international T20 teams — Australia, Afghanistan, England, India, Pakistan and South Africa — will visit Perth to compete for the trophy as part of the blockbuster event.

The World Cup matches in Perth will start on Saturday 22 October, with the opening night featuring England against Afghanistan.

This match will be followed by Australia versus the Group A Winner on Tuesday 25 October, before Pakistan competes against the Group B Winner on Thursday 27 October.

The final Super Sunday fixture on October 30 will be a double-header between Pakistan and the Group A Runner-Up, followed by India versus South Africa.

The five matches will be held over nine days and are expected to attract significant numbers of international and interstate visitors and showcase WA to the world.

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is the biggest global sporting event being held in Australia in 2022.

The world's best cricketers from 16 international teams will clash in 45 matches across seven host cities.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup


Page reviewed 06 May 2022