Page title


Media release

A seated audience listening to a speak on stage in Forrest Place, Perth with a large screen in the brand colours of the FIFA Women's World Cup.

The launch of the fan festival comes ahead of the first match of the FIFA Women's World Cup™ 2023 tonight, where people can watch the Matildas take on Ireland live when the match kicks off at 6pm WST.

The Perth FIFA Fan Festival, located in the heart of the city at Forrest Place, is a dedicated fan zone where Western Australians can visit for free and enjoy live broadcasts of world cup matches, live music and performances, football activations, and food and beverages.

Children aged under 16 that attend the FIFA Fan Festival and wear their team colours will also receive free fairy floss.

Perth will host 5 World Cup matches throughout the tournament, which were secured with the support of the State Government.

The first Perth match is between Team Denmark and the People's Republic of China on Saturday. This match will be followed by:

  • Wednesday 26 July: Republic of Ireland v Canada
  • Saturday 29 July: Panama v Jamaica
  • Tuesday 1 August: Haiti v Denmark
  • Thursday 3 August: Morocco v Colombia.

Teams Denmark and Haiti are calling Perth home for the duration of the tournament.

The Official FIFA Women's World Cup Trophy visited four tourism destinations across WA from 7 to 10 July, starting in Perth, followed by Busselton, Kununurra and Broome.

The WA matches are expected to attract thousands of out-of-state visitors and inject millions into the WA economy, while showcasing the State to a global audience of up to 2 billion people.

The State Government has invested $35 million to deliver upgrades to Perth Rectangular Stadium to support the matches.

Further investment has been made in WA's new $46 million State Football Centre in Queens Park, jointly funded by the State and Commonwealth governments, as 1 of 2 training grounds being used by teams competing in Perth during the tournament.

Perth is 1 of 8 host cities across Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand, as joint host nations for the FIFA Women's World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023.

Tickets are on sale

Media enquiries

Visit the media hub to contact the media team.

Media hub


Page reviewed 27 February 2023