Page title


LG Alert

The Minister for Local Government’s Place Innovation Awards will recognise innovation, improvements to standard practices, and collaboration in local government place-based projects. 

Projects should demonstrate one or more of the following criteria:

  • An innovative approach to a place-based opportunity or challenge.
  • Significant improvements to standard practices.
  • A high level of collaboration, including with external stakeholders.

Local governments can nominate in the metropolitan Perth and Peel region category, or the regional project category. A third open category winner will be chosen from the submitted metropolitan and regional award nominations.

The awards will be presented at the WA Local Government Association Convention at Crown Perth in September this year, during the Local Government Awards event.

The Place Innovation Awards are administered by Town Teams, with support from the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries.

Nominations close on Friday, 18 August 2023.

For more information, including how to nominate, visit the Minister for Local Government’s Place Innovation Awards page on our website.


Page reviewed 27 February 2023