The tribunal

The tribunal comprises a chairperson and six members appointed by the Minister for Racing and Gaming.

A panel of three members is required if the appeal is against a penalty of more than three months suspension or disqualification, a warning-off and/or a fine exceeding $2000.

All other appeals may be heard by the chairperson or a presiding member sitting alone.

Chairperson and members

Mr Robert Nash (Chairperson)

  • Was appointed to the panel of the tribunal in March 1997.
  • Was appointed chairperson in August 2022.
  • Is a barrister admitted as Practitioner of Supreme Court of WA and of the High Court of Australia.
  • Is a general public notary and has served on many councils, committees and directorships.
  • Is chairman of a public company and head of the WA Navy Legal Panel.

Mr Andrew Monisse

  • Appointed to the panel of the tribunal in February 1997.
  • Admitted as a barrister and solicitor of the Supreme Court of Western Australia in December 1990.
  • Since July 2000 has worked as a barrister practicing in criminal law, administrative law and military discipline law.
  • In October 2011 he established Quarry Chambers (his current law chambers).
  • Since April 1997 has been a member of Australian Defence Force as a Legal Officer in the RAAF Specialist Reserve (currently holds the rank of Squadron Leader).
  • Has attained the following qualifications from the University of Western Australia — Bachelor of Jurisprudence, Bachelor of Laws, Bachelor of Economics and a Master of Laws.

Ms Johanna Overmars

  • Admitted as a barrister and solicitor of the Supreme Court of WA in 2005.
  • Practices primarily in family law.
  • Member of the Family Law Practitioners Association WA, Family Law Section of the Law Council Australia, International Academy of Collaborative Professionals and Collaborative Professionals WA.
  • Accredited Collaborative Professional.
  • Owned horses most of her life and studied horsemanship for over 10 years.

Mr Phillip Gleeson

  • Is a founding Director of Percy Kakulas Gleeson.
  • Is listed by the Doyles Guide as a leading lawyer for work injury compensation nationally as well as in WA, and for medical negligence, motor vehicle accident and public liability compensation in WA.
  • Has attained the following qualifications - Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Laws (Honours), Graduate Diploma of Education.

Ms Natalie Sinton

  • Has attained the following qualifications – Bachelor of Science, Master of Forensic Science and a Bachelor of Laws (Honours).
  • Research Associate to two Judges of the Court of Appeal in 2008.
  • Associate to a Judge of the Court of Appeal in 2009.
  • Was a solicitor in the Criminal Law Division, Legal Aid WA, and a part of their Criminal Appeals Team.
  • Former committee member and Secretary of the Criminal Lawyers' Association.
Page reviewed 08 September 2022